February 18, 2018

Devotions

Deepen your faith and feel God's touch by reading or subscribing to devotional readings. Whether it is the daily devotional (Feed Your Spirit) produced by our denomination, or our own seasonal devotions, you are sure to be inspired, challenged and encouraged here.

PUCC Lenten Devotion – Thursday, February 15, 2018

This will be our prayer as we gather with our whole selves at the Lenten Candles this season… extinguishing one candle each time we worship until all seven are snuffed out on Good Friday… then we will light them all again on Easter Sunday!!    

                                                                           

Holy One, we bring our whole selves to this Lenten journey – our eyes, ears, hands, voice, heart, head and feet. May I see clearly the signs of your presence and grace. May I hear and truly listen to you and to others. May my hands be ready to fill a need for someone else – and be available to receive blessing. May my arms be open to others. May my words be true – speaking up for your priorities, Holy One. May I speak up for others. May I raise my voice in song and celebration too. May my heart be open to the ways you abide there – and to the grace that allows me to abide in your heart. May my head grapple with things hard to fathom – and may I be open to new ways of understanding you and others. May my feet rest firmly on the ground so that I am rooted. May I move with the momentum of your Spirit – bringing me to people and places where I have never gone before. May I be as Christ-like as possible as I live this Lenten Journey with my whole self. Amen.

 

PUCC Lenten Devotion – February 14, 2018 – ASH WEDNESDAY

Indeed, the body does not consist of one member but of many. If the foot were to say, ‘Because I am not a hand, I do not belong to the body’, that would not make it any less a part of the body. And if the ear were to say, ‘Because I am not an eye, I do not belong to the body’, that would not make it any less a part of the body. If the whole body were an eye, where would the hearing be? If the whole body were hearing, where would the sense of smell be? But as it is, God arranged the members in the body, each one of them…- 1 Corinthians 12:14-18

 

Head, shoulders, knees and toes (knees and toes)… eyes and ears and mouth and nose … head, shoulders, knees and toes (knees and toes)!

 

These lyrics to a well-known children’s song can really get stuck in your head – and in your shoulders, knees and toes …. (Apologies if I have done that to you today!)

 

It was one of the interactive songs we shared yesterday at Kidz Biz (http://kidzbizpreparatory.com/) when I was there for my weekly Ready Readers (http://www.readyreaders.org/) adventure.

 

While the preschoolers are sitting on the rug, they have one job – to focus on the book. It sounds like a simple task – just to do that one thing. But children’s bodies, minds, spirits and relationships have to all align in order for them to be present to the story being shared. There are so many ways that kids’ eyes, ears, hands, voice, heart, head and feet can be distracted.

 

As I was reminded of this truth (and challenge!) yesterday morning, I thought of you and me and us as we are beginning our Lenten Journey. We have one job – to focus on Jesus. It sounds like a simple task – just to do that one thing. But our bodies, minds, spirits and relationships have to all align in order for us to be present to Jesus. There are so many ways that our eyes, ears, hands, voice, heart, head and feet can be distracted.

 

Join us as we try a variety of ways to be more intentional this season as we go

From Lovers to Fools: Making Sense of The Lenten Journey.

(From Ash Wednesday/Valentine’s Day to Easter/April Fool’s Day!)

 

It all starts to tonight at 7pm in the sanctuary… http://parkwayucc.org/ash-wednesday-worship-feb-14/

 

Holy One, be patient with us as we come to Lent with our whole selves. Amen.

December 2016

1024px-adventkranz_andreaPUCC Advent Devotion – Sunday, November 27, 2016

PUCC Advent Devotion – Monday November 28, 2016

PUCC Advent Devotion – Tuesday, November 29, 2016

PUCC Advent Devotion – Wednesday, November 30, 2016

PUCC Advent Devotion – Thursday, December 1, 2016

PUCC Advent Devotion – Friday, December 2, 2016

PUCC Advent Devotion – Saturday, December 3, 2016

PUCC Advent Devotion – Sunday, December 4, 2016

PUCC Advent Devotion – Monday, December 5, 2016

PUCC Advent Devotion – Tuesday, December 6, 2016

PUCC Advent Devotion – Wednesday, December 7, 2016

PUCC Advent Devotion – Thursday, December 8, 2016

PUCC Advent Devotion – Friday, December 9, 2016

PUCC Advent Devotion – Saturday, December 10, 2016

PUCC Advent Devotion – Sunday, December 11, 2016

PUCC Advent Devotion – Monday, December 12, 2016

PUCC Advent Devotion – Tuesday, December 13, 2016

PUCC Advent Devotion – Wednesday, December 14, 2016

PUCC Advent Devotion – Thursday, December 15, 2016

PUCC Advent Devotion – Friday, December 16, 2016

PUCC Advent Devotion – Saturday, December 17, 2016

PUCC Advent Devotion – Sunday, December 18, 2016

PUCC Advent Devotion – Monday, December 19, 2016

PUCC Advent Devotion – Tuesday, December 20, 2016

PUCC Advent Devotion – Wednesday, December 21, 2016

PUCC Advent Devotion – Thursday, December 22, 2016

PUCC Advent Devotion – Friday, December 23, 2016

PUCC Advent Devotion – Saturday, December 24, 2016